A Letter to My Brother

Alexander Winifred (Photo credits to Alicia Ai Leng)

Alexander Winifred.  (Photo credits to Alicia Ai Leng)

Dear Alex,

You have been a strong-spirited runner and athlete, brother, and son. Your quiet strength was demonstrated through your artworks. You have always been a great digital artist and wonderful writer. Despite the shortcomings you faced as a child, and even more so now, you chose to stay strong and tread through.

Though we do not share the same surname, we have so much more in common. So much more than at surface level. We look the same, share the same dreams, the same bed too, sometimes. Remember those days? We shared the same cane also, at times when poor MaMa was so mad.

It is really unfortunate that you have to go through all these in spite of your age. I never wanted to have you go through all of them alone. Know that though I may be silent, I am vehemently against whatever wrong that has been done to you.

Life is too short, dear brother, too short to go through pain. It is of my most sincere desire that you put your hectic life to a temporary halt, however short, and look back. And remember the times we shared, gazing at the twinkling stars in the night sky and talking endlessly about all the wonderful things we would do when we grow up.

Do you still recall, O Brother, how I used to hug your little head to my chest when poor MaMa hit you so badly? Do you still remember, O Brother, how I tried, best as I could, to comfort you when poor MaMa’s wrath destroyed your hard work?

You have changed because that is always what happens as time goes by – but I have not forgotten. Your heart may be still and cold and hard because of misunderstanding, but I have not had an earlier opportunity to open my mouth.  I may be silent, but I refuse to accept what is not mine.  I may not have uttered a single word, but my heart was bleeding as I watched tears stream out of your little eyes.

You cannot blame someone for something that have never done. Such is one of the worst sins as they result in Hatred, Anger, Jealousy, Dissatisfaction, Hurt, and Pain.

I pray everyday a short, silent, heart-breathed prayer that you are well and strong no matter where you are and what you do. You are now a far-fetched young man with a great many skills and accomplishments. On top of that, I honor you, O brother, for having helped me stand on my two feet that were once broken.

I hope it is not too late for you to turn around now. We had only each other in the darkest hours on Earth. Now it is still not totally light yet, but I do pray that the days do not turn darker for you as Time whizzes by and does its magic.

Dear brother, you shall always be a part of me. A part of my heart. Let go the clutches and live.  Continue running, sprinting, chasing after dreams, dreams that are not of others, but of your own.  Pave your own path toward success, and reinvent yourself.

That is all I shall want to say.  Happy Birthday.

Faithfully yours,

Red Scarlet

*PS:  The author would like to dedicate this short article to her beloved brother who is turning 19 on October 3, 2014.

Leave a Reply

