The Rain

Have you ever heard god speak?  He does not shout; he does not scream – his words are like soft whispers to the ear, an enlightenment to the soul.  I dare profess that I myself have heard god speak.  Just in case you were wondering how….

I shall tell you a story.

Having written a number of articles, I was extremely eager to post them as soon as I could.  My heart desired to be heard – it was with much haste that I prepared my laptop bag to do some publishing.

Yet at the same time, I had more stuff to brag about, and it set me wondering if I should just sit back in my burrow and put my flair there and then, or I should just go ahead with publishing and try to vomit all the words out later.

And then something happened.  In an instant hilariously average-sized droplets of water fell from the dark clouds in the sky.  They beat the window panes completely, and brought cool air to the atmosphere.

Sometimes one can hear god talking to us through the rain. (Photo credits to Alicia Ai Leng)

Sometimes one can hear god talking to us through the rain. (Photo credits to Alicia Ai Leng)

It was as if the Masai warriors had lit a bonfire in the barren land and danced around it nearly to their exhaustion to ask the gods to bring down rain to an otherwise unbecoming climate.

The shower was like god saying to me: “Hello…. You need to stay back and finish drafting your little stories first before going out.”  And I was like, hey.

I do not know.  Just maybe.

Red Scarlet

Leave a Reply

