The Huge Comic Strip

It is part of the film-making process.  (Photo credits to Ashraf Saharuddin)

It is part of the film-making process.  (Photo credits to Ashraf Saharuddin)

Comic strips are fun to read.  It is a part of the film-making process that occurs somewhere in Step 2 or 3.

The things that occur in life can also be part of a comic strip – would you believe that?

Well, for me, it is just as it is.  A comic strip.  Please understand t.he phrase word by word.  Life is like a huge movie in which god writes up the entire screen play and you are the actor.

Oh, well.  Whatever.

I had made my decision to take part in the fasting during this year’s month of Ramadhan after a bizarre turn of events this year.  Of course on several occasions I admit that the fast had to be broken before due time – plus minus and I would probably get a total of about two weeks.  The days flew by and the last day of fasting arrived.  I had been at work, and after that I was supposed to hit the streets of Kuala Lumpur to do a bit of shooting for a clip on the country’s aviation tragedies.  My partner and I had almost been done with the entire script (it was a short one anyhow), so that night was supposed to be the final round if things worked as planned.

If things worked out as planned.  He texted me in the evening.

“I cannot make it at night.  It is the Hungry Ghosts Festival and my family has plans already.”

You know how I felt?  Euphoric?

Again, whatever.

A good friend had invited me to her husband’s candle-light birthday part by the lakeside at Kota Kemuning the next day, so I was up at noon and prepared myself for the evening.  I gave my eyes a bewitching look with liquid black eyeliner for the top and lower eyelids – somewhat the sort you see on ancient Egyptian women.  Oh, I love my eyes.  Why am I starting to sound narcissistic?

Anyhow, on my way to the mall – I walked there; it was only a few minutes away – to get  a present for the party, I met two young school-age boys dressed in Hari Raya clothes.  We said hi, and then the bigger one asked me: “Kak, ada duit Raya tak?”  (“Elder sister, can we get some tokens?”)

I do not know, but I said I am not married yet!  They were looking at me with their cute, innocent faces which made them almost morph into The Puss in the Boots.  Bad feelings started creeping over me as I swayed over the thought of playing tricks on their little minds.  I obliged in the end.

It was randomness in its extreme.  Happiness overload.

Life is the huge comic strip.  (Photo credits to Ashraf Saharuddin)

Life is the huge comic strip. (Photo credits to Ashraf Saharuddin)

Leave a Reply

