Dancing Stress Relief

Dancing is portrayed as a form of self-expression.  how you express yourself is your own art, your own piece, not through words, but through movement.  Do you know that sometimes, the pressure cooker heats up too much it just feels like exploding? (Photo credits to Faidzal Annuar)

Dancing is portrayed as a form of self-expression.  How you express yourself is your own art, your own piece, not through words, but through movement.  Do you know that sometimes, the pressure cooker heats up too much it just feels like exploding? (Photo credits to Faidzal Annuar)

There is something about dance and good music that disconnects the clamps in the ligaments and gives some form of liberty to the inner core.  It constructs a feeling of directed waywardness and pronounces every movement in such a way that is beautiful and attractive to the eye.  It does wonders to the mind – did I ever tell you what positive psychology is all about? Well, I will, soon.  I sort of realized it a few years back when I watched a little practice.

Once I got home, I put what I studied in written ink.  It really did not feel that bad.  And here is what I got.

As the sun rose and its rays rippled through the dewy air, a group of women in their late 50s and 60s danced in tune to the music of the 80’s. They followed suit as their trainer shouted, “Left, right! Now, right, left!” and moved their feet as demonstrated.

I watched as they slid around a small portion of the basketball court where they practiced. It was the great way to start off the day.

Line-dancing is a beautiful form of relaxing and exercise. But why line-dance? Actually, it does not really matter what kind of dance you like to do. Relaxing means not having to follow a rigid structure of rules. So this means any dance style will do.

Relaxing means allowing your cramped-up mind to unlock so that your thoughts are able to wander freely. It is just like a pressure-cooker half-filled with soup that has been boiling for the last 15 hours. You forgot to add in water, and when you finally realize, the heat inside the pot has increased, so you switch it off, open the cover, and release all the steam. Your mind is like that. You need to open it up and let all the pressure out, and dancing is one nice way to do that.

Some think that dancing is for crazy freaks. However, that’s not true. They do not just belong to the club or ballroom. Whenever you feel like it, you can simply turn on the stereo really loud and waggle to your heart’s content. Of course, you need to check if your neighborhood conforms to booming music in the middle of the night. You need to see if your neighborhood is “open-minded’, too. Once a week should not hurt, though.

However, if you are uncomfortable with the idea of dancing alone, then you might as well hit the clubs. It’s fun, if you know the moves. Just make sure you don’t end up in trouble.

I like hip-hop dancing to rap music. It’s much better than making pointless (or obscene) gestures in the air. I prefer to do it alone, so some nights when I am in the house by myself, I would shut the windows, turn on my hi-fi, and dance away my worries.

I don’t think I’ll stop here, anyway. One day I may have my own dance club, and me and my team members would be getting ourselves involved in international dance competitions like the International Dance Challenge in New Jersey, USA.

But I’ll see about it. There’s no need to rush everything like the world will end this year 2012. It all probably depends on the level of pressure I have in my head that’ll be waiting to burst out-and I hope that doesn’t happen.

Whatever it is, dancing can help release the build-up of tension in your mind and body. I have been there, done that, and I know it works.

So if you want, turn off the lights and start wiggling around to the music. Chris Brown’s
“You Look Better With The Lights Off,” perhaps?

 

– The author dances whenever she can as her own way of relaxing, whether in her room, in the parks, or at the roadsides.  She hopes to be able to find a connection between the art of dance and drama to produce therapeutical effects.

Red Scarlet

Leave a Reply

