Red Hot Chilli Peppers

Some nights ago when I arrived home from work (it was really so late!), I went to the kitchen and found these in my refrigerator:

500mL water

2 chicken ribs

1 big portion of sheep stomach

1 whole packet of tiny little green chllis

3 carrots

2 medium-sized onions

1 packet of stalk mushrooms

1 packet of oyster mushrooms

1 stalk of lemongrass

1 packet of salt (small)

Thailand soup stock (Tom Yam)

It was really cold, and I had badly wanted something really hot; so I took out the ribs, chillis, carrots, onions, and mushrooms and the lemongrass – I nearly forgot about them- and rinsed them under the tap.  I diced the chilis into tiny bits, and sliced a carrot and an onion.  When that was done, I poured about 5ooml water into the slow cooker and then slid all the contents into it.

Leaving the soup to boil, I hunted around for the lemongrass.  The lemongrass, lemongrassWhere are you skinny green stalk of a vegetable?  I finally found the whole bunch still intact, sitting quietly at the second sink.  Why didn’t it occur to me that I had left it there just minutes ago?  Somehow I shredded the lemongrass into really small, tiny bits , and strew them into the simmering soup.  It would take approximately four hours to be all ready for consumption, so I went to do some writing.

Of course, I did not use up all the stuff I had.  I just made what was enough for me.  Here is the recipe:

Tom Yam Soup 

500mL water

1 chicken rib

2 green chillis, finely chopped

1 carrot, diced

1/2 onion

some stalk mushrooms

some oyster mushrooms

lemongrass, finely chopped

1/2 cube of Maggi Tom Yam stock

a pinch of salt

 

These soups which originate from Thailand are really good for keeping the body cosy and warm on a cold night.  The spice really helps a lot.  To be a little adventurous on the taste buds, add a dash of black pepper. Thechicken and sheep stomach ca be replaced with beef, mutton, etc.

All these for a great single serving.  Enjoy!

Note: I learned all these flavorful cooking when I was young as I was exposed to such dishes at a very tiny-winy age.

Red Scarlet

Leave a Reply

